Post 10: Reflection & Proposition

There is always one great positive that outweighs any other about having tutorial times. One thing I am glad to have is being surrounded by people who are familiar with the topic and who have been there as a weekly constant to be familiar with my own personal research. They have seen the ideas and the concepts scraped, developed and explored. It would be rather annoying to repeat myself every week about my idea, but having that space to verbally explain my idea is its own channel for developing.

As a pair we were able to discuss my previous problem statement, understand the tone needs work with improvement of vocabulary choices. From there we commenced a game to bounce ideas back and forth to clarify and simplify my ideas. In effect, that gave me an understanding to narrow down my problem, and directing a proper line of action,whilst learning what my draft proposition is effective at doing and whether it was appropriate.

During my time to open up my ideas, my tutor – Chris, was able to listen in on my draft proposition and became another mind to bounce ideas from. Though I felt as though I had been able to explore all my options, at the time being firm to make something generative. I was in my own fault, had ignored the possibilities that data visualisation had to offer to solve my problem statement.

Proposition: Mental Health: Blurred Lines

(Data Visualisation)

Since the digital age, the internet has been constantly evolving and adatping. As a result, on certain social platforms – for example Facebook – has developed an online culture amongst young adults that use terminology from mental health and use them in a joking and mocking context. As a result of this, has created a space where mental health is humorised and desensitises the severity of the issue.

From preliminary research, those who have done this can be loosely grouped into three categories:

  1. Those who do so as a means to cope with their own battles with it
  2. Those who want to talk about it but can’t do so unless in this light-hearted way
  3. Those who are completely uninformed by the severity of it

The change we want through our design is directed at those who are unaware of how they are using their words online. We want them to become informed and mindful of their actions. Though it may be quick and easy to type a seemingly innocent joke online, their words can cause a detrimental effect on those who are battling something within themselves and can cause the reader to take offence. We have noticed that this online culture doesn’t get transformed in the mannerism between people when they interact in the real world.

The best result from our design is to give everyone an enlightenment and revolutionise the way we interact online and hope it can transcend into the real world too. This mindfulness can help as one of the small steps taken to battle with the many other issues that revolve around mental health.

‘Mental Health: Blurred Lines’ would be a motion graphic video that composes of data visualisations on the usage of terms like “depression”, “kill myself” “rather be dead” on Facebook. This short video will be a story telling that slowly guides the watcher to understand how a small joke can escalate and make them reflect when they thought the line was crossed. This will guide them to ask questions of whether this sort of dialogue would still be appropriate in the real world.

 


Negley. K, 2013, New York Times OPED, Keith Negley, viewed 26 September 2016 <http://www.keithnegley.com/NYT-schizo&gt;

Author: Danyen Rosa Nguyen

Visual Communication Student at University of Technology, Sydney