Post 10 : Reflection and Design Proposition – DATA TRACK

After I completed my draft proposal, I hadn’t defined which approach to employ, as I was unsure about task 3A and 3b. Seeing previous students work and brief lectures, I found was very beneficial to give me a direction on how to visualise and refine my thinking and proposal.

In class, we were paired up with different students who didn’t know each other’s proposals. I paired up with my classmate who is interested in ‘Create awareness of factory farming’ with mine being, ‘Create an awareness of online social media privacy’. Our directions may have been different but we found our responses quite similar. Both of us aimed to create data visualisation to create empathy and create an emotional response for society.

To refine our draft proposal, we first discussed our own findings throughout the entire research we had performed over the past couple of weeks. We drew out our thoughts, draft proposals and refined the solutions.

thumb_img_4112_1024-copy

For my study issue (online social media privacy) I was unsure about my target audience and which age groups to focus on. After discussing with her she suggested I think about the young adult age group and their response to social media privacy. I also wasn’t sure whether I should create an app or any add-on page for social media privacy. I am more interested in showing people how much information they are sharing on the internet without knowing how to lock their personal data from third party users, such as governments, large multinationals, and hackers. She suggested I make a life storybook for an individual person, who has been tracked through social media and lost her identity. I could create a data visualisation to show other people and create empathy.

She and my tutor also advised trying a ‘Google Tab’ or ‘Add-on’ page as a useful and clever approach for users as a means to check how much information they are sharing. It could also make sure every time users try to share information that could potentially lead to losing their identity, it will stop them.

I also learned from her approach regarding data visualisation creating an app for users. In her example, it was an app that could show users alternative solutions, such as the supply of meat and the various options. Her approach actually allowed me to think of a similar solution for my direction.

After we discussed our proposals and solutions in pairs, we both discussed individually with our tutor – where I received positive feedback. She suggested collecting data from social media from at least 5 people on Facebook within the 18-25 age group with the following questions:

  • How are they sharing their information on social media such as personal information, photos, check-in, emoji, hobbies and interest?
  • How often they check their privacy on social media?
  • What kind of emotional responses do they exhibit on social media and how are they sharing it?
  • Are they aware of social media privacy? If they are, how would they like to control their information?
  • Is an idea like the Google Add-on page be something they consider useful?

Project Title: Data Track
Practice Type: Data Visualisation (Google/Chrome Add-on)
Issue: Social Media Privacy

Refine Proposal and Solutions:

DATA TRACK
A Google Add-on or Chrome Add-on Tab option which will visualise data to users every time they log into social media and share their information such as personal info, photos, check-in, their hobbies and interests, as well as if anyone is tracking their data and how they are hacking them due to the user sharing information. It will also act as a reminder to warn them if they are providing highly personal information.

by Ayesha Mira

