POST 9: Reflections

James Meland

The academicising of design into a thinking practice is something that is so new and living that when in class, we are adding to the rich practice even when we are discussing ideas casually and in all honesty not know where it is going. As much as design itself is a conversation, we as practitioners must be able to converse both visually and verbally and be able to act as a translator and mediator to solve problems beyond the need for a skin.

map1.png

I found one of the excersices useful because we started the mind mapping with an investigative framework to track our process and extract useful information. In that sense we applied a logical basis and proper though flow to a facet of the issue that even without approaching with a proper framework would be a convoluded and wicked problem in itself. Though as helpful as one of the excercises was, I found the second to not be as useful. Whether it was a factor out of my control, or the type of excerise – I just found that we were stating things that I already knew. I suppose in retrospect I found it unhelpful because we were discussing things that already existed and they were supposed to be a way to come up with other kinds of solutions. I can see how that might be a useful approach, however listing things like online democracy and youth parliament – things that have already been proposed, I just wished that I had come up with it myself!

map 2.jpg