Post 9:Visual documentation of the brainstorming session

wechati0mg2
In class brainstorming mapping

As a group, we did brainstorm and mapping with “ who, what where,when and why” which was discussed and explored with other classmates. We did a simple and quick mapping to analyze our topic, water scarcity, awareness of waste and air pollution. Basing on our topic, we wrote down the key points on this map. With taking our own strengths and weaknesses with the process into account. I think we all focus on our specific topic to discuss and analyze important points related to our topic. For example, my topic is air pollution, and I will focus on air pollution in China. The reson for doing this topic is because China was the largest contributor to carbon emissions from fossil fuel burning and from cement production in 2012.

wechatimg3
Air pollution brainstorming mapping

And also, air pollution is a serious issue threatening people’s life and behavior. However, our group did not explore deeper for our specific topic. As this result, I have done detailed and comprehensive analysis. In terms of that, I made another brainstorm mapping to explore more details about air pollution. As air pollution is a big topic in climate change, I will focus more on smog issue which is one of the reason leading to air pollution with my primary and secondary research, and all barnstorming mapping.

wechatimg
service design workshop in review week

In order to better understand how I should create a service design in my proposal. I joined the collaborative workshop for service design case study in the review week. The workshop main task is to do some exercises with a service design article example. Firstly we read the services design article and underlined the human and non-human actors. And then, we were asked to do a mapping about categories the actors in controversy, which should be related to the article. We mapped out the people, technology/communication, and emotion/behaviour/ identity as a group. (image in the above)

wechatimg1

In addition, we developed a flowchart, which analyzes the user and designer’s proposal in this service design. (image in the above)

To sum up, it was a helpful and useful tutorial. It makes me learn lots of things and better understand services design. For example, the tutor told us that the most important thing that we want to tell audiences should be set up in the beginning of a sentence. This is a key point I have never thought about. After these exercises, I will have more insight and idea of my service design proposal. I think my proposal will focus more on the user’s experience and benefit from my proposal.

 

