POST 9: Visual documentation of the brainstorming session

The group brainstorming session was extremely valuable to the development of my design response. Our group was extremely vocal and all had enlightening contributions to each member’s issues. I feel that each member went away with new perspectives of their own ideas, allowing for different directions to be explored within their complex idea. This rewarding session encouraged a sense of contemplation and questioning in order to really develop and refine current design responses.

14285472_10209058676215578_359454080_o-2
Group brainstorming (A. Carmody, 2016)

The session erupted with each persons issue statement, all of which were completely unique and dissimilar from the rest. This distinction enabled fresh perspectives and attitudes towards each statement. My statement revolves around language and how it has the power to oppress and empower the genders. While another statement explored the lack of female representation in the media. These statements are both coined under gender equality; however, they aim to investigate completely different areas of the same issue. After revealing each members issue statement I was worried that the differences would cause friction and a lack of constructive feedback. Although, after we got the ball rolling it proved to be a nonissue.

 

I jumped the gun and decided to grab the first 15 minutes, which accidentally turned out to be 20. I explained my issue statement and how language, in relation to gender, really intrigues me. My statement stimulated my members because they hadn’t thought of gender equality in this light. We began by breaking down language into different areas, to which we would then get completely enthralled by and go on a crazy tangent. These multifaceted tangents lead my issue into new and exciting directions that I would have never even touched on. Providing me with new material and concepts to follow for my design response.

mindmap_language
Zara Hartwig’s mindmap on language (Z. Hartwig, 2016)

This was then repeated for the remaining three group members, whereby we would all become so passionate about each other’s ideas that it lead to new and unique directions. I would burst with excitement and yelp “I READ THIS ARTICLE OMG YOU HAVE GOT TO READ IT, IT EXPLORES THE CENSORSHIP OF FEMALE GENITALIA!!” to which another member would burst, “THAT IS PERFECT FOR YOUR ISSUE AND YOU COULD THEN LOOK INTO…” This intense discussion would circulate for the entire 15 minutes while someone would frantically try to write it all down. It was so rewarding to see how passionate each member was about each other’s statements. This engagement enabled each of us to further expand our ideas revolving around our issue and also provided multiple viewpoints.

14274360_10209058676135576_393653674_o-2
Georgia’s mindmap on Women’s rights vs Human rights (G. Doust, 2016)

After the main discussion each of us then began to propose ideas for our design response. For each member we chose which issue was the strongest and then considered research methods and emergent practices that would best suit our responses.

14233550_10210049277445994_885511627_o
Understanding different design methods (Z. Hartwig, 2016)

Overall, I walked away from this class feeling stimulated and enlightened, as I felt like I not only assisted others in my group but I also received immense insights from them. This group session was definitely the most beneficial, having worked with like minded individuals that weren’t afraid to offer their opinions.

 

 

 

Written by Zara Hartwig