BLOG IX

Visual documentation of the brainstorming session

In our brainstorming session, my group members and I started to discuss and develop a problem statement for each issue. Although I had already defined the specific area in which wanted to develop my proposition (Paternity leave), I realised I had troubles with deciding on what specific moment I wanted to address within the issue, as well as if I wanted to address either the fathers, or the employers.

visiual_two
Who, What, Why Where etc. by Ahlstrom C. Meeko L. Meland J. (2016)

I got help from my peers to expand on the factors of – who, when, what, why, where etc. This was helpful to once again see the lenses through which the problem can be approached and the parameters of the problem. This made me realise that a design response would obviously affect and be addressed to an audience which is slightly older than 18-24 year olds, depending on the fact when most couples start families in Australia. (Hilder et al. 2014)

visual_one
Brainstorming map by Ahlstrom C, Meeko L, Meland J. (2016)

I began with stating the problem as ‘Low paternity leave causing workplace inequity’, but since this was too broad I narrowed it down it to the moment when ‘Father’s face/fear stigma when considering paternity leave’. My fellow students and I started brainstorming freely on the problem statement and we all proposed towards ideas relating to awareness of the issue, and affects to change of traditional values. For example: promotion packages, paternity showers, daddy communities etc. Most ideas were attached to service design solutions, and a few would also combine with information visualisation. This brainstorming session was probably the most rewarding one so far, everyone in my group came with insights from different ways depending on their area of interest in the issue. I believe that the mapping exercises has given us sufficient knowledge to be able to approach our issues with confidence.

By Camilla Ahlström


Ahlstrom C, Meeko L, Meland J. 2016, Brainstorming map, Class exercise, University of Technology, Sydney
Ahlstrom C. Meeko L. Meland J. 2016, Who, What, Why Where etc. Class exercise, University of Technology, Sydney
Hilder, L., Zhichao, Z., Parker, M., Jahan, S., & Chambers, G.M. 2014, Australia’s mothers and babies 2012, (Perinatal statistics series no. 30. Cat. no. PER 69.) Canberra: AIHW