Post 6: Data scraping

For data scraping exercise, I re-did a twitter search at home but somehow it didn’t work on my google doc which was disappointing. I followed the instructions but somehow I can’t get the data from twitter.

Screen Shot 2016-09-26 at 8.40.51 PM.png

Twitter is a social network which allows people to pose tweets with hashtags and other features, it’s similar to Instagram however Instagram is more like a daily photo based thing where as Twitter is a service that enables users to send and read short 140 characters messages called “tweets”. Registered users can read and post tweets, but those who are unregistered can only read them. Users access Twitter through the website interface, SMS or mobile device app. 

Screen Shot 2016-09-26 at 8.40.02 PM.png

Screen Shot 2016-09-26 at 8.40.22 PM.png

Screen Shot 2016-09-26 at 8.40.41 PM.png

However I tried advanced search on Twitter which have the same features as Twitter archiver in Google doc. I typed in #refugees #womenandchildrenrefugee #australiarefugee, with these hashtags I found lots of tweets from different people around the world, some are people’s perspectives on Australia refugee and some are news articles about refugee in Australia. I have to say Twitter advanced search is a really good search tool for us because it just shrinks our time and it’s so easy to access with one Twitter account.

With different tweets I found on Twitter using hashtags, I’ve found out women and children refugees not just in Australia, they often get sexually abused which affects their mental health over years, which is a big issue in today’s equal society. I’m thinking to focus on women and children refugee for my issue and maybe to think how I can prevent them from getting sexually abused by others, maybe this will be my main focus for my final design proposition.

5 point summary:

  1. useful
  2. easy access
  3. saves time
  4. truth worthy information
  5. understandable

Angela Yu