POST 7: Issue mapping

Further progressing into my research into my issue, I found that the issue mapping exercise was more beneficial than not. Even though I am working towards the research of public perception, the classmate I worked with had a similar approach to their research also. This made the circumstances easier to work with, but was still a very intensive exercise. Even though my partner was a bit more prepared than me coming into class, it didn’t take away from the fact that we were able to come up with a few maps that not only tackled more of our issue, but started to refine the smaller sections of my topic that is of great help and use for my upcoming work into this assessment.

14172047_1210457255683442_836508717_n

After refining an earlier map into more specific areas of interests, it set me up into exploring polemics, emotive motivators that tackle conflicting points of view within my issue. The map above therefore, is a refined version of stakeholders that still hold their value within the issue of refugees and asylum seekers. Because my partner and I were looking at similar ideas into our issue, it was hard to look past the media’s value and how the media has shaped the perception of these groups of people. We also looked out how education and the law was enforcing this perception, in order to gained a greater sense of how this information is controlled and distributed out to the public.

14159844_1210457265683441_651263726_n

Our second exercise was to collate this information into a polemic exercise to look at the emotions that come out of this issue. My partner and I strictly stuck to the idea of public perception, taking into account education levels and law enforcements that alter the way we view this issue as a whole. Taking other points into account, we had to consider the legitimacy of refugees, the benefits of acceptance and the the distress of being neglected. The realities behind these different situations that refugees and asylum seekers face on a daily basis is unparalleled to what we, as the public, is actually exposed to. After looking and mapping out the possible polemics regarding my issue, I came to the realisation that most of these emotions are negative and involve hate, fear, confusion and segregation. This needs to be a more positive reinforcement in order to start  positively working towards solutions. According to this mapping exercise, this is currently not the case.

14172064_1210457289016772_33241674_n

The last exercise was all about combining these polemics and stakeholders into graphs that start to focus on public perception and how they impact the issue on an daily basis. We worked on this by getting all of the stakeholders from week 3 and categorising them in their respective polemics. What I found interesting about the exercise is that some of my stakeholders from previous tasks were placed in all three categories, while some only were placed in one. This demonstrated that these particular set of stakeholders were responsible for more then what they have been accounted for. Notable stakeholders include the government, social media forms and the idea on constant controversy. What was great about this exercise was that I wouldn’t have found this sort of information just by generically researching through the internet. It gives me a clearer insight into which parties are actually affecting this issue on a large scale.

To summate, the mapping exercises truly emphasised the importance of these hidden emotions and ideas regarding my issue. The relationship between these highlighted stakeholders therefore, can be a strong factor into finding one or multiple solutions for this issue, especially into the topic of public perception. During this task, I discovered that this would be an appropriate source of information that would assist me in my further research and a guideline that not only me, but also my partner. These stakeholders are ultimately the main driving force into this issue, and their relationship to each other can be crucial to finding a positive solution to this issue presented.

Peter Andreacchio (11768381)

