Scrapping twitter [post 6]

Specific features and functions of Twitter 

Twitter is an online social networking platform made up of no more then 140 character messages known as Tweets about all different social topics and discussions. You select who you follow: people your inserted in, interesting social conversations, organisations and news broadcasters. Messages from the users you choose to follow will show up on your home page like a personalised newspaper. You can Retweet peoples messages, which means sharing what they have said on your page or you can reply to their posts. Retweeting is how twitter trends evolve and social issues are recognised.

 

Unique qualities 

Twitter is used by the general public as well as business and individuals or groups trying get their opinions out there and have a say. The Twitter community is very much based on different opinions regarding current social issues and trends. There is no tendency for one gender to use it more so then the other, hence why I saw it as an appropriate means to explore for my issue.

 

My scrapping process 

a flow chart of my process

My findings 

I found that over half of the content found when using the pipeline, although its was nice and organised it was irrelevant or insigntful. Over half the top retweets, users, hashtags were based on sex and sexualising genders. Only a handful were relevant and not necessarily completely on par with my topic. I gain a strong insight into how the words you choose can have so many different meaning then the one you intend. Some of my words may have been to broad and if I were to redo this exercise I defiantly would reconsider some of my broader ones such as male, female and use masculinity or femininity. I was overall surprised with the search results here. I thought given that I was putting in hashtags #heforshe and #itsokaytotalk, which are well known and spoke about, that all the results would be about those. However there were only a handful for #heforshe and none at all for #itsokaytotalk.

Screen Shot 2016-09-01 at 3.12.49 PM.pngScreen Shot 2016-09-01 at 3.13.07 PM

Screen Shot 2016-09-01 at 3.13.10 PM.png

Screen Shot 2016-09-01 at 3.12.53 PM

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-09-01 at 3.15.14 PM.png

At this point I decided to enter the same words into a different twitter scanner. One which was not limited to 500 top results and produced over 3000. Interestingly enough the top hits here were incredibly relevant and came from users such as BBC News, The Guardian and other highly renowned sources.

 

WRITTEN  BY ANNA CARMODY 

